Welcome to Special Education Service Agency

SESA is an educational service agency comprised of a low incidence disability service inclusive of a statewide lending library. Low incidence disabilities include autism, Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DHOH), vision impairment, emotional disabilities and multiple disabilities. In addition, SESA operates two grants:

  1. Alaska Autism Resource Center (AARC)
  2. Alaska Deaf Blind Project (DSI)

Eligibility for SESA services

Special Education Service Agency Board of Directors

Governor's Council for Disabilities and Special Education

Jill Burkert
Juneau, AK

Anthony Cravalho (Treasurer)
Kotzebue, AK

Jeanne Gerhardt-Cyrus (Secretary)
Kiana, AK

Christine King
Anchorage, AK

Christie Reinhardt (Ex Officio)
Anchorage, AK

Maggie Winston (Vice-President)
Kenai, AK

Alaska CASE

Mandy Evans
Sitka, AK

Alaska Association of School Administrators

Jack Walsh (President)
Craig, AK

Alaska Department of Education Designee

Donald Enoch
Juneau, AK

NEA Alaska

Dan Kaasa
Soldotna, AK

SESA Online Board Policy

SESA Board Meeting Minutes

Anchorage Location

3501 Denali St., Suite 101, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907-334-1300
Toll Free: 877-890-9269
Fax: 907-562-0545
TTY: 907-563-8284
sesa@sesa.org

Administrative Team

Patrick Pillai, Executive Director
ppillai@sesa.org 907-334-1305

Emily Berliner, Executive Assistant
eberliner@sesa.org 907-334-1345

Educational Specialists

Angelique Black, Education Specialist – Multiple Disabilities Specialist
ablack@sesa.org 907-334-1333

Samantha Weiland, Education Specialist – Autism Specialist
sweiland@sesa.org 907-334-1334

Kendra Wolf, Education Specialist – Autism Specialist
kwolf@sesa.org 907-334-1317

Julie Burger, Education Specialist – Multiple Disabilities Specialist
jburger@sesa.org 907-334-1337

Michelle Carroll, Education Specialist – Dual Sensory Impairment/Hearing Impairment
mcarroll@sesa.org 907-334-1328

Jennifer Schroeder, Education Specialist – Multiple Disabilities
jschroeder@sesa.org 907-334-1336

Tara Maltby, Education Specialist - Alaska Autism Resource Center
tmaltby@sesa.org 907-334-1313

Olivia Yancey, Deaf & Hard of Hearing Specialist
oyancey@sesa.org 907-334-1332

Lyon Johnson, Education Specialist – Emotional Disabilities
ljohnson@sesa.org 907-334-1329

Meriah Cory, Education Specialist – Multiple Disabilities
mcory@sesa.org 907-334-1318

Samantha Cowper, Education Specialist – Emotional Disabilities
scowper@sesa.org 907-334-1334

John Barrowman, Education Specialist – Autism Impairment
jbarrowman@sesa.org 907-334-1339

Support Staff

Kathy Dersham, Program Assistant
kdersham@sesa.org 907-334-1307

Phylicia Christian, Program Assistant
pchristian@sesa.org 907-334-1341

Christine Collier, Program Assistant/Travel Coordinator
ccollier@sesa.org 907-334-1342

Miguel Michaca, Program Assistant
mmichaca@sesa.org 907-334-1340

Anne Freitag, Librarian Specialist
afreitag@sesa.org 907-334-1301

Yuya Hisada, Educational Technologist
yhisada@sesa.org 907-334-1344